Rejections

March 4, 2011

I had lunch, today, with a friend, who told me about a friend who’d written a memoir.  This friend of a friend had showed his memoir to an agent, and the agent told him that though the writing was terrific, he couldn’t see his way clear to representing the book because he didn’t think there was a large enough market for the book.

Market.  Shmarket.  Agents and editors often act as if they can predict the future.  And then a small book, with a small printing comes along and knocks readers’ socks off and the book becomes a mega hit.  I’m thinking of the first volume of Harry Potter.  It started small.  It ended up, well, bigger than big.

And, to my mind, there’s nothing wrong with small.  Some small publishers have managed to find a way to control their costs, keep their print runs small, go back to reprint if a book starts selling, and sell works that otherwise would go unpublished.

I was once buying a book at my local bookstore and I overheard a publisher’s salesman talking to the owner.  He was showing the owner the catalog, telling the owner about the books, making suggestions.  He came to one book, told the bookstore owner, “Don’t bother with that one; we’re not getting behind that one.”  I was shocked.  Here was a salesman advising a bookstore owner not to buy a book that a writer had written, that the publisher had bought and published!  Imagine a salesman at, say, a Ford dealer saying “We’re not getting behind this model.”  He or she would be fired.  Immediately.

Publishing is a crazy business.  Many publishers (not all, surely) are dysfunctional.  Many act like dysfunctional families.  Many treat writers poorly.  Many excuse the mistakes they make in bringing books to readers by blaming their mistakes on writers.  (I know of books that have been reviewed well before publication; I know of books that have not gotten second printings after the first printing sold out almost immediately; I know of books that have been handed on to editors after the editor who bought the book left and the second editor deliberately decided to “kill” the book because it competed with a book he himself had bought; I know of a book that was mistakenly shredded and never reprinted even though its author had received prizes.)

And there are publishers – editors at publishing houses – who are heroic.  Editors who buck the tide.  Editors who take chances on books.  Editors who help writers do the best work they can.  Editors who actually read the books they’re publishing.  I’ve been lucky enough to have many of these.  But from what I’ve heard, it’s harder for these heroic editors to survive.

The problem with the kinds of rejection letters that agents and editors ordinarily write is that in order to justify their judgment (which can be dead wrong), they make their letters sound as if they’re authoritative.  And therein lies the challenge for the writer.  Because writers often read rejection letters as if the author of the letter is stating fact even though the author of the letter is only stating opinion; then the writer loses heart; the writer decides to stop work, abandon the project.  But in the words of a former esthetics professor of mine, “This is a good book” often boils down to “I like this.”  That is, judgments about works are often worded as “truths” about the work rather than opinions about the work.  When an editor predicts, for example, that a book like this won’t sell, what is that editor saying?  That she can predict the future.  Do you believe that she can?  I don’t.  What she really means is that on the basis of what she knows about the industry, she’s judging that not many copies of this book will sell.  That’s a very different statement.

It’s a hard time for writers, yes, indeed it is.  Publishers are selling fewer and fewer books.  There are more and more writers chasing publishers.  Fewer and fewer publishers are willing to take chances.  A writer’s sales record is out there for everyone to see; a writer is “blamed” for her or his poor sales; but a publisher takes credit for publishing a book well if the book sells well.

Still, it’s a good time for writers too because of the development of self-publishing.  Go the round with publishers; get rejected.  That’s not the end of the story now.  In this day and age, you can always self-publish.  Even formerly well-published writers who’ve sold their work to big presses in the past are doing so.

John Edgar Wideman, that fantastic author of Brothers and Keepers, published his Briefs in 2010 with Lulu.com.  When I heard the book reviewed on NPR, the commentator made a special point of saying that with the publishing industry looking for mega hits, it seemed to be making sense for writers of Wideman’s stature to turn to self-publishing for some of their projects.  And let’s not forget that Virginia Woolf self-published every one of her books, from her third novel on, throughout her life.  Why did she?  She didn’t want anyone to control her work.  Her books, then, turned out to be just as experimental as she chose.  She didn’t have to deal with editors.  And she reinvented the genre of fiction in each of her works.  Can you just hear an editor telling her, “But Virginia, we’d really like something closer to Mrs Dalloway,” after she handed in, say, The Years.

And while I’m talking about Woolf, that sweetheart of backlists, it’s important to remember that several of Woolf’s titles only sold in the hundreds of copies, not even in the thousands.  Her husband Leonard Woolf’s publishing philosophy was simple, and it paid off.  Publish quality.  Don’t worry about how many copies a book sells.  Keep the writer in print until s/he establishes a readership, no matter how long it takes.  Then the writer’s works are money in the bank for the press.  That’s what he – the business manager of his and Virginia’s press – did for Virginia Woolf’s work.  It paid off.  Orlando, relatively late in Woolf’s career, became a bestseller.  And when it did, all of her other works started to sell.  Imagine Woolf’s fate as a writer now?  She wouldn’t have been able to sell the next work she wrote after the one that only sold a few hundred copies.  And what then?  All those magnificent novels might never have been written.

But times have changed in the publishing world since then.  There are perilous few visionaries like Leonard Woolf around.

I have before me a sheaf of rejection letters from books I’ve written.  I’m paraphrasing what was said.  But these are the kinds of letters that a writer gets.  These are the kinds of letters that we read and file.  And then we make a plan of how to move on.

“I can’t see us publishing this book.  It’s not anything like what we publish.”

“The writer treats the subject differently from the way the subject has been treated before and so I can’t see how we can market this.”

“The writing is wonderful, but we can’t figure out how to publish this because the writer doesn’t have a visible platform.”  (I’m not sure what that means.)

“It’s a hard market and I’m not sure we could find readers for this book.”

“It’s not a good fit for our list.”

“The book is about ordinary people leading quiet lives; we like books about extraordinary people overcoming great obstacles.”

One of my books received over fifty rejection letters before I placed it.  So when I see writers “folding” after one rejection, I don’t get it.  I don’t understand why a writer who’s worked hard on a book would give up after one rejection, after ten rejections, after forty, even fifty.  And now, with self-publishing a possibility, there’s no reason to ever give up on a work.  There’s no reason why anything we write that’s worthwhile can’t be published.

 

 

 

 

6 Responses to “Rejections”

  1. tama baldwin Says:

    What you say here cannot be said enough times! In fact, it needs to be said at least as elegantly as this and over and over again–particularly the point you make in the last paragraph. I love stories about the inanity of publishing, but I love even more than that stories of dogged resilience.

  2. Jennifer Cruz Says:

    This is wonderfully encouraging. I haven’t begun submitting work just yet but I know part of it has to do with the fear of rejection. It becomes discouraging reading about how many times great writers (like yourself) get rejections. This post is a forceful pat on the back to get back in there and not give up. This has been bookmarked and I will reread whenever necessary once I’ve begun that process.

  3. Marianne Says:

    I am so far from the publishing part; however, this post is refreshing, and encouraging. I think it is important to all writers to understand that determination is central. I cannot imagine how it feels, the rejection, especially when the writing is so important. But, I suppose that’s the writer’s life. You are brave and inspiring. I will keep a copy of this post on my wall. It will become my mantra.

  4. Shayla D. Cook Says:

    I agree with Marianne and Jennifer. The blog is encouraging. Hearing your anecdote about rejection, it was quite inspiring. Fifty rejection letters. This could definately destroy any writer’s ego. The fact you kept pushing forward, and achieved your goal is what reads as inspiring. This tells me I should keep writing even if I do not believe in my work.

    Thank You Louise.


  5. And the good thing, in this day and age, is that there’s always self publishing. I read in a newspaper about a man who decided to self publish with Amazon. He’s earning more than a hundred thousand dollars a month! This isn’t everyone’s story, certainly. But we live in a time when a writer can publish her own work. After all, Virginia Woolf, D. H. Lawrence, Henry Miller, Walt Whitman published their own work!

  6. Lisa Roth-Gulvin Says:

    Dear Loiuse,
    I consider your blog a “Daily Word” for writers. When I am discouraged and start to feel sorry for myself, a good dose of Writing a Life puts everything back in perspective.
    Thank you,
    Lisa


Leave a Reply

